Curt Leichner Distinguished Member Award

The Curt Leichner Distinguished Member Award, named after the former PHPA Executive Director, is awarded each year to a member of the hockey community who has made significant contributions towards the advancement of professional minor league hockey, and has continued to diligently serve the sport.

Leichner, who passed away in May 2006, served as the PHPA’s Executive Director from 1969 until 1993. He was instrumental in forming the players’ union, and negotiating the first Collective Bargaining Agreements between the PHPA and WHL, AHL, and CHL. Thousands of professional hockey players have had their rights advanced and enforced as a result of Leichner's vision for a better workplace environment.

The recipient of the annual Award is announced each February and formally presented with the Award by the PHPA Executive Director.

Past winners include:

Strategic Partners