Allen’s Chad Costello wins ECHL Scoring Title for third straight season

Date: Apr 20, 2017

The ECHL on Monday announced that Chad Costello of the Allen Americans has won the league scoring championship with 122 points (33g-89a).

Colorado’s Casey Pierro-Zabotel was second with 88 points (24g-64a) followed by Shane Berschbach of Toledo with 86 points (18g-68a). Florida’s Brant Harris (32g-51) and David Vallorani of Brampton (32g-51a) finished tied for fourth with 83 points each.

Costello, who was named to the All-ECHL First Team last week, also led the league with 89 assists, 40 power-play assists and 49 power-play points. His 89 assists rank as the fourth most in a single season in the ECHL’s 29-year history.

It is the third consecutive season in which Costello has captured the ECHL scoring title, becoming the first player in ECHL history to accomplish the feat.  Last season, he joined John Spoltore, who captured the title in 1999-2000 and 2000-01, as the only players to win back-to-back scoring titles. Costello is one of just eight players in league history to record multiple 100-point seasons and one of just four to do so in consecutive seasons. He joins Spoltore (1997-00) and Trevor Jobe (1990-93) as the only three players in the ECHL’s 29-year history to post three consecutive seasons of at least 100 points.

Costello has tallied 489 points (146g-343a) in 309 career ECHL games with Allen, Ontario, Colorado and Texas. He ranks 18th all-time in league history with 343 assists.


  Share   Tweet

Strategic Partners